Yeah, I like cake, all different kinds.

Published August 14, 2012 by Sandee

Since I could get sued for using other people’s google images – they shouldn’t put them up there if they don’t want people using them – anyway – I got scared and ripped down every image I had that belonged to someone else.  I read about this in Jennifer Eaton’s post.  But see those cakes at the side-bar?  I needed them.  They’re just too pretty.  It was love at first sight when I saw them.

I absolutely must have cake on my site.  I’ve got to have it!  And they must be pretty, but those pink cakes weren’t on the free site.  So on the free site I looked for pink cakes to complement my blog, but it was a free site, so they looked like free site cakes of course.  I had an idea.  “I’ll contact the people who took the pictures, the people who baked the cakes.  I’ll say to them, Puulllease, I’ll do anything to have those cakes. I must have those cakes.”

I went to their sites and posted my request in their comment sections, telling them that I would for certain refer back to their sites if they allowed me the privilege of posting their cakes. Ah, they ain’t gonna get back to me I thought.  The day after I posted my request, both lovely ladies responded, saying they had absolutely no problem with me posting their cakes!

So there they are!  But.  I wondered.  They gave me permission but I didn’t think to ask if perhaps I should get permission from the photographers if they didn’t take their own pictures. But you know what fuck it!  I’m keeping them – they said I could!  If I see more cakes I like, I know I can contact the owners.  This’ll be my new pastime on a Saturday night – trolling the web for cake!

Aside from the fact that I’m giving them free advertising, does anyone see any problems with this?  This is one of those things where I feel like I might be missing something.

Here’s cake passion in my fiction:

An excerpt from my short story Doody Lady:  “I grabbed the cake and relished it, suppressing my urge to get up and hump at the air in a feigned fucking of the cake, or to moan and to close my eyes rapturously behind each forkful of thick, white frosting.”

Another excerpt from that story:  “Fuck dinner – give me cake, cake with thick buttery frosting three inches high!”

43 comments on “Yeah, I like cake, all different kinds.

  • It’s not likely to happen, but it can happen. The link below is a story about a woman that it happened to. But generally I don’t think someone would sue you for using their image. I just didn’t want to be stressed about it on a day that I might be prone to worry about stuff.

    I just realized I should site where I read about this. So I just edited my post to include the information, but here it is again: http://jennifermeaton.com/2012/07/21/bloggers-beware-you-can-get-sued-for-using-pics-on-your-blog/.

    Other bloggers have referred to this as well. The link that I copied to you has another link with a list of public domain sites where you can use their images with no risk.

  • Most people with those kinds of pictures will probably be fine. It’s the professional photographers who make a living selling their pictures that may have a problem with it. In any case it is always safer to get permission.

  • I never mind when people use my photos as long as they credit them back. Then again, I suppose I don’t make my living off photography. Mostly because it’s really hard to make a living as a ghost photographer. 70% of the time they don’t even show up in your picture, and do you think you can get them to pay the portrait fee when it’s just a picture of an empty chair in front of a Sears backdrop? Not likely. And good luck trying to sue a ghost, don’t even get me started on that.

    Wait, what were we talking about?

    Oh, right. Cake. Sandee, you’re always welcome to dive into my box of cake pictures if you’re worried and also like chocolate peanut butter cake, since that somehow seems to be the only kind that I ever photograph.

    • Note to self: upon my death, contact Eva for photographs — be sure to make yourself visible! You could count on me to be the perfect ghost model!

      You have cake pictures! You are the perfect person Eva! Thanks for the offer — I may take you up on that!

  • Cake is my favorite. I LOVE cake. I joined the Campfire Girls as a child just so I could go to the meetings at other people’s houses on the off chance they would give us store bought cupcakes for a snack (my mother never bought cake, she only made it). One of the greatest things in Seattle are the many cupcake shops. How anyone could EVER choose pie over cake is beyond me. I was upset when I saw pie shops cropping up around town, and heard it said in the press that “pie is the new cake”. If I ever take any pics of cakes I make (highly unlikely), I will send them to you immediately.

  • You had me at cake. And again at cake. And then one more time at cake…

    I stick to mostly Microsoft Clip Art for any images on my blog that aren’t my own. From what I understand, their images can be used for non-commercial purposes, so I figure I’m safe that way. And they have a pretty decent stash. Bet they have cake there, too. 🙂

  • I made a cake with pink icing several years ago, I think I actually have a picture of it because it was for a party. If I can find it, I’ll send it to you and you can use it to your heart’s content!!

  • Those 2 passages are amazing, really truly great writing. Why don’t I have your book yet? So slow. I will order it. Maybe today, maybe tomorrow. I need my coffee blended first. I don’t have a Kindle. Can I still get your book?

    I have asked for permission a couple of times to great, wonderful ends. But that was not for photos, rather for pictures of real paintings/drawings. It’s a great way to “meet” fellow bloggers.

    I vowed, many months ago, to start crediting photos and it lasted about a day. Fuck it, bucket. I didn’t read the link, however. Ignorance is bliss?

    Ciao! twinkly

    • Thanks Twinkly! Thanks for giving me a pat on the back — I could certainly use the encouragement!

      The hard copy of my book will be out in a couple of weeks. I’ll definitely let you know.

      Ignorance is indeed bliss — and for the most part people don’t get sued for using these images anyhow — I’m just so neurotic I didn’t want to have anything else to worry about on one of those really bad neurotic days 😦

  • Mmmm. . . cake. . . . mmmmm. . . . pretty, pretty cake. . . mmmm

    Oops, sorry. Got a little distracted there. I have to admit I’ve been a little cavalier about images and videos, etc. I think I’m going to put an official disclaimer about things like copyright law and fair use at my site. And then add some more links about legally purchasing the things I post about.

    Thanks for making me paranoid.

    • I’m sorry — I’m sorry for making you paranoid but when I read that it made me laugh — mostly because I identify! I even thought twice about posting on the subject because I didn’t want to be a killjoy.

      Caaaaaaake!!!!!!

  • Dear Sandee,
    #1: Now I want cake.
    #2: I have been contacting photographers. Me. LIttle Miss South Dakotan…contacting big New York photographers while they are “in the middle of a shoot!” to ask them if I can use their stuff.
    They are REALLY cool about it!
    I think the majority are.
    🙂
    Chocolate Cake.
    I can’t stop thinking about it!!!!!
    🙂
    Love, Lis
    xoxooxx

  • Comment?

